The purpose behind this blog

Hey everyone! For over the past decade I have devoted time to writing movie reviews as a way of expressing my passion for everything cinema. From online forums, IMDb, and even my college newspaper, I have tried to put to words my thoughts and feelings on the moving image. However, ever since graduating a few years ago, my writing habits have soured, and I lack the drive and motivation that I used to possess.

The purpose of this blog is to get me back into writing film reviews. François Truffaut once said something a long the lines of, if you’ve only seen a film once, you haven’t really seen it. Or maybe a film professor of mine just made that up? Either way, critics these days are forced to form an opinion after essentially viewing a film only once. Films need time to breathe in our memories, time to evoke feelings and responses that might not have been there initially. Viewing a film multiple times can only further a person’s understanding of the material and how they view it.

Upon Further Look will be my attempt to write reviews for films after I have watched them (at least) a second time. This way, the writing may not be as challenging for me, and I might end up with something more to say. Sorry for the long winded preamble, but hopefully this will be a way for me to rediscover certain masterpieces while also rediscovering the reviewer within myself. Here it goes!

Leave a comment